Otsego County Board of Commissioners Joined Others in Passing a Resolution in Support of the Tunnel Solution

Otsego County has become the 12th county to pass a resolution in support of the tunnel project. The Otsego County Board unanimously approved the resolution on October 22nd. Otsego joins Baraga, Cheybogan, Delta, Dickinsion,Gogebic, Grand Traverse Houghton, Iron, Mackinac, Marquette, and Ontonagon in support of the tunnel project. 

Although the counties do not have jurisdiction over the tunnel project, the resolutions indicate that these local leaders understand the importance of the tunnel to their residents. Whether it’s the taxes into the local economy, the good paying jobs the project will provide, or the much needed energy supply, the tunnel solution provides certainty that a vital, safe and well-maintained piece of transportation infrastructure will continue to support Michigan communities, while safeguarding our state’s waters. Michigan businesses and residents depend on the certainty the tunnel will provide, with the safe, continued operation of the pipeline.

When asked by the media, Otsego County Commissioner Rob Pallarito said the board is confident in the tunnel as a solution and reiterated that “They’re going to take this line and put it in a concrete tunnel, 100 feet below the Straits and eliminate any boat anchor strikes”. 

Michigan Petroleum Directory Now Available!